Mind, Heart? Heart, Mind? It’s Both!

Posted: March 5, 2014 in Podcasts, Who Is "me"...?
Tags: , , , ,

PLEASE CLICK ON PLAYER OR LINK BELOW TO LISTEN.

mind heartBefore i begin I’m thinking about today’s post and how it pertains to Fight, Flight, Freeze. Where do those responses come from?

What have i’ve learned thus far? First, Avoid confusing the purpose of my heart and mind.

i need to look at my heart as a compass… its purpose is to guide the direction my life should go. my heart looks at my life-like i’m flying a kite and it’s an extension of me. It reports back to me and says, this is where i am and this is the direction i need driven decisions. my mind conceptualizes, organizes and here are the facts, ”

If i compare my mind and heart to a courtroom, my mind would be the defendant and the plaintiff, my heart would be the judge. The reason i get so frustrated by this battle of “Head vs. Heart” is that my mind is not only playing the prosecutor and the defense, but has taken over the role of the judge as well. my mind should never be the judge. my mind’s job is to compare and contrast, to sort things out and say “this is what i’ve got. Now do what you want with it.” More often than not, my mind isn’t doing or saying that. my mind is making my choices. What’s worse, is even when i don’t need my mind to be at work, it’s still going. Comparing and contrasting everything. I’ve noticed and shared recently about that even when it’s completely unnecessary to think about  anything, my mind is still going?

If i want to end the battle between head and heart, i’ve got to figure out a way to unite the two. Remember i said that the answer to this problem is simple? Well, it is. But, not easy at first, because i’ve been doing it all wrong for so long. i need to teach my mind to go with my heart.

When deciding things, let the mind do what it does best and let the heart do what it does best and then go with it. A couple of days ago i shared about wanting to go with God and not having a second thought. Using the mind and the heart as they were created and intended to be used will allow that can and w to be accomplished.

So, i should go ahead and get information. What is the implied benefit of the decision? Will it be something i’ll ever regret? Although my mind may be telling me that the temporary benefit of a bad decision will be a wise one, my heart will say it’s not the wise thing for me to do.

Next i should identify potential problems. What might go wrong? Will i feel good about it after making the decision?

Now i need to explore options. Think about what’s best for me, what’s the wise thing for me to do? Develop confidence that what my heart tells me to do is the best and more importantly the wise choice.

Lastly, i have to make the choice and implement a plan. Of course, using what i have learned from my past mistakes, my current circumstances and my future hopes and dreams.

By listening to my heart, i can teach my mind to think in cooperation with it and eventually get them to work as one. This is what the scripture means when it says, “I have the mind of Christ, my thoughts are established in Him, and my steps are ordered by Him.” i’ll create a marriage between my heart and my mind. Maybe then the child (me) won’t have permanent emotional damage from the divorce it’s been suffering from for so long. Make the choice today. Go Ahead, try it!

In closing, “When the heart speaks, the mind finds it indecent to object.”   a quote by Milan Kundera, The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Comments
  1. What’s up friends, good piece of writing and fastidious urging commented here,
    I am really enjoying by these.

Leave a Reply

