Fearless Confidence…

Posted: September 12, 2014 in Confidence..., Podcasts
Tags: , , , , , ,

PLEASE CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW TO LISTEN.

Confidence and Self Confidence are hot topics these days. All around me i’m told to think confidently, to be self-assured, to live boldly. Society says, be self-confident, but what does the Word have to say about confidence and self-confidence.

The word confidence (or very similar words) is referenced 50 to 60 times in the Bible depending on the translation you’re reading.  These references refer to my trust in people, circumstances, and God.

The Word is very clear about this word confidence and adding the word self in front of it. Here’s what Philippians 3:3 says, “Have no confidence in the flesh.” Flesh as in self! If that’s not clear enough then here’s Proverbs 14:16 “A righteous man departs from evil, but a fool rages in his (self) confidence.” Neither of these verses suggest that i’m not to have confidence, but they do make it clear, that confidence in myself is misplaced.

Based on the that premise, what should confidence in my life look like? Psalm 118:8 says, “It is better to trust and take refuge (have confidence) in the Lord than to put confidence in man.” i’ve spent many years and struggled hard to get rid of anything prefaced with self. This needs a little more explanation. i have self-esteem but it’s not based on my looks, my position, the clothes wear or the car i drive. In fact it’s not based on anything i can see, hear, taste, touch or smell. which is how the world packages it.

my self-esteem is based on being God’s child, born again of the incorruptible seed. The Lion of Judah represents the triumphant Jesus. King David and Jesus came from the tribe of Judah. Through that lineage i am a Lion of Judah, triumphant and confident in my heritage.

Mirror Confidencemy confidence is in a personal, intimate relationship with God. He is my High Priest, and through His intercession, i can “approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that i may receive mercy and find grace to help me in my time of need” (Hebrews 4:16).

Proverbs 3:26 for me is a guarantee. “For the Lord shall be ed’s confidence, firm and strong, and shall keep ed’s foot from being caught [in a trap or some hidden danger]. Putting my confidence in His revealed Word, changes everything. my life takes on a new stability, focus, and identity. It’s there that i realize, i am smart enough “because i have the mind of Christ, because i have established my thoughts in Him, therefore every step i take is ordered by Him.” Now there are no good days or bad days, no good circumstances or bad circumstances, just days and circumstances filled with grace.

So ed, does not, therefore, fling away his fearless confidence, for it carries a great and glorious compensation of reward. For ed has need of steadfast patience and endurance, so that ed may perform and fully accomplish the will of God, and thus receive and carry away [and enjoy to the full] what is promised. Hebrews 10:35-36

This is my confidence, “i am convinced and sure of this very thing, that He Who began a good work in me will continue until the day of Jesus Christ [right up to the time of His return], developing [that good work] and perfecting and bringing it to full completion in me.” Philippians 1:6

Practical application is a required element for good information to become life changing versus just good information.

So in order to build up my “FEARLESS CONFIDENCE” i am intentionally committing to not say anything about myself or anyone else that God himself hasn’t or wouldn’t say about me or others.

Ephesians 4:29, ed, let no foul or polluting language, nor evil word nor unwholesome or worthless talk [ever] come out of your mouth, but only such [speech] as is good and beneficial to the spiritual progress of others, as is fitting to the need and the occasion, that it may be a blessing and give grace (God’s favor) to those who hear it.

Words and Actions, Words and Actions, ed overcomes (conquers) circumstances, trials, by means of the Blood of the Lamb (confidence) and by the utterance (words) of his testimony, for ed did not love and cling to life (self, flesh) even when faced with death [holding his life cheap till he had to die for his witnessing]. (Revelation 12:11) paraphrased.

 

Comments
  1. Loved this! Thank you.

    And Thank you for last night. It meant a lot!!!

    Blessings,

    Theresa 😉

    >

  2. I always spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s
    articles all the time along with a cup of coffee.

  3. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate
    to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and
    adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.

    Chat soon!

  4. I like the valuable information you supply to
    your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and test
    once more here frequently. I am fairly sure I’ll be informed a lot of new
    stuff right here! Best of luck for the following!

  5. If you desire to obtain much from this post then you have to apply such
    techniques to your won weblog.

  6. Amazing! Its actually amazing piece of writing, I have
    got much clear idea concerning from this paragraph.

Leave a Reply

