Hurt… Again!

Posted: September 26, 2014 in Hurt...
Tags: , , , , , ,

Welcome to me and I AM. i’m your host Dr. Ed Peterson and i’m so glad you have returned for the conclusion of this short but meaningful series.

Several years ago i felt God say to me “ed, it’s time for you to enjoy my people.” It’s true, for years i endured people, i lived a life shaped by the hurt they caused me to feel in the past. Since then i have or so i though i have been looking at relationships without judgments, without pre-qualifiers, as divine appointments from God. To some degree that’s true but on the other hand, i shared yesterday my definition of relationships, defining the terms and guarding myself from further hurts from those that i don’t deem “worthy” of my suffering. Nice going ed!

hurtingIf i were given the choice to do it all over again, i most certainly would. i would experience every one my hurts all over again. Why? Because every one of them added value to my life long before they hurt me. The value added, far out weighs the hurt. The value added has molded and shaped my life, not the hurts. When i think of them, it’s with fondness and not the pain of the hurt. What i would give to have those relationship back again. To laugh together, to share together, to do life together.

These posts are a little out of character for me. i have not referred to a lot of the Word to make my point. The reason is simply this, i read and looked for verses to drop in but nothing clicked, until now. John 3:16 “God so greatly loved and dearly prized the world that He [even] gave up His only begotten (unique) Son, so that whoever believes in (trusts in, clings to, relies on) Him shall not perish (come to destruction, be lost) but have eternal (everlasting) life.

That’s RELATIONSHIP! Read it again… God so greatly loved and dearly prized ed that He [even] gave up His only begotten (unique) Son, so that ed who believes in (trusts in, clings to, relies on) Him shall not perish (come to destruction, be lost) but have eternal (everlasting) life.

So if that’s true what does He do when i don’t trust, cling to or rely on Him? Nothing changes! That’s right, He so loved that He gave, He can’t take back His Son, He can’t erase the cross and resurrection. He so LOVED… was so complete, so final, that it could not be reversed if He, God wanted to.

i know little about that kind of love as it’s greater than any words, feelings, emotions than i am aware of. i mean, i would never give up one of my children for “anyone” else. That is beyond my comprehension.

i do better understand at least the concept of God’s promise that “He will never leave me nor forsake me.” If i had a nickel for every relationship where one or the other person gave up, i’d be a multi-millionaire.

Jesus meets the woman at the well and spends the day with her. Thousands of people on the earth and Jesus selects just 12 disciples. Was He being selective about His relationships? It would seem so initially. But… i think i would be wrong. John 3:17 says, “For God did not send the Son into the world in order to judge (to reject, to condemn, to pass sentence on) the world, but that the world might find salvation and be made safe and sound through Him.” i may spend more time with some of my relationships, but time must not the determining factor for my willingness to love them…deeply, to count them “worthy” of my willingness to suffer for them. If in the few minutes i stand before the grocery clerk i do not engage, it becomes a missed opportunity. Now am i willing to love so much that i’d give my only son for them? i’m sorry to say probably not. i don’t understand that degree of love therefore i can’t give what i don’t posses. On the other hand i do respect the example set for me, by God, to at least engage in the moment and make it count as a divine appointment, set by God. i know someone is thinking, ed your just buying groceries. Yes that’s true, but it’s more than that. It has to be… or life is very mundane and worth far less than i perceive and what God illustrated so vividly.

my relationships and hurts with people aren’t cake, ice cream, party balloons and presents. Relationships… people… come with possibilities of hurt. But ultimately what is a horrible experience can be found to contain a life time of experience that will serve me well. God counts me “worthy” and is willing to suffer hurt by me.

i would be remiss if i didn’t make mention of the flip side of this. i as a human being bring to the table the possibilities of hurting someone as well. i am more aware of that in my relationship than i am the reverse.

 Here’s my closing summary, people who really care won’t hurt you, but if they do, you’ll see it in their eyes, because they’ll be hurting to. And what about those who do not care? God so loved that He gave… not judging, rejecting, condemning, and not passing sentence, for the purpose that they too might find Him.

Leave a Reply

