Average… Incidental or Foundational?

Posted: October 17, 2014 in Average..., Podcasts
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

PLEASE CLICK THE LINK BELOW TO LISTEN.

Hello my name is Dr. ed peterson and i’m the host of the me and I Am post and podcast. i’m currently sharing about “Average.” Recently i shared about my new job in a call center. For the first time they posted our call numbers. The number at the top of the page was 98. That’s 98 calls for… not me. Then i saw 86 for… not me. i read on to see three people with 78… not me. i got all the way down to the number 29 before seeing my name. That’s 29 calls for me. Let’s see, there are 28 people in the class and i was thirteenth… “AVERAGE.” Ever so slightly above average and i’ll take all I can get at this point. Can you believe it? Well i don’t! One week one set of numbers does not identify me. So please… don’t call me average… not yet anyway.

PathIn Matthew 7:13,14 i shared Jesus’s words about the wide path and the narrow path. He states that many take the wide path and few the narrow or in other wards, the average take the wide and the not so average take the narrow. i closed out yesterday by stating that this series is vitally important to me and my desire to live life intentionally. Eventually i’ll get into the details of what Jesus said about intentional living but for today i’ll share why this should be vitally important to everyone and i’m not suggesting that it’s one size fits all. It will look differently for each person, allowing for the season each of us are in. But the principles of the words are the same for everyone who decides that they don’t want to be average. i had not read verses 26 and 27 until this morning, which by the way is how i’m treating this whole series, one bite at a time, reading only what i’m led to, as i’m led to. That simply means that i may not share it all in the order it’s written.

Anyway, Matthew 7:26,27 (MSG) ed, “These words I speak to you are not incidental additions to your life, homeowner improvements to your standard of living. They are foundational words, words to build your life on. ed, if you work these words into your life, you are like a smart carpenter who built his house on solid rock. Rain poured down, the river flooded, a tornado hit—but nothing moved that house. It was fixed to the rock.

“But ed, if you just use my words in Bible studies and don’t work them into your life, you are like a stupid carpenter who built his house on the sandy beach. When a storm rolled in and the waves came up, it collapsed like a house of cards.”

WrongSometime ago i shared a series of posts regarding “my outer collapses exist because my inner strength could not sustain them.” That’s exactly what those two verses are again saying to me. ed, if you want to be average and settle for life collapsing in around you the choose the wide path, only use My words in Bible studies, for posting a blog. Don’t work them into your life, build your life on the sandy beach and then be constantly ready for collapse.  But, ed, if you want to be able to handle ALL life, ALL  it’s “stuff” then be intentional about the words you speak and the actions you take, the life you live. Then rest in the knowledge that NOTHING, NO THING, no financial need, no loss of a job, no illness, no hurt, no chocolate cake, no ice cream, no coffee cake, no death, NO THING can move you ed, as you ed are fixed in place to the Rock.

i keep referring to intentional living, as though it’s only intentional to not be average. Not so! Regardless of where i’m at and what my choices are they are intentional. i am intentionally working at not being average… most of the time. Then other times my intention is to be just that, average. Intentional is simply doing something on purpose. Sometimes i purpose to be average, to settle for less than what is available to me.

i must share that i do have a slight issue with the interpretation of Jesus words… that is how they worded them for our understanding. For years Ann Marie and i had a life purpose statement that said, “We live each day to apply the word to our lives, our family and toward others. Then one day while doing another study God shared with me that i had it wrong. Wrong? How’s that possible, was my immediate response? And i’m out of time. So until next time, when i’ll share how it was possible, be blessed and thanks for joining me on me and I AM.

Comments
  1. Definitely imagine that that you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the web the simplest thing to
    take into accout of. I say to you, I definitely get
    annoyed while folks consider issues that they just
    don’t understand about. You controlled to hit
    the nail upon the highest and also outlined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal.
    Will likely be again to get more. Thanks

  2. A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment.

    I do think that you should write more on this subject matter, it may
    not be a taboo subject but usually folks don’t speak about these subjects.
    To the next! All the best!!

  3. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already ;
    ) Cheers!

Leave a Reply

