Revealed… Part 1

Posted: November 25, 2014 in Podcasts, Revealed...!
Tags: , , , , , , ,

PLEASE CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW TO LISTEN. 

UnknownEach year around this time i begin taking inventory of my year… my life as to where it’s at compared to last year and… and where it seems to be headed. i usually come away with a theme for the next year, a concept, a few words that become the focus of my life. One year it was “my outer collapses exist because my inner experience can not sustain them.” Last year was “i must do today what others will not, so that tomorrow i can do what others can not.” This year has been “Let my eyes hear before they see.”Unknown

These are usually revealed to me through a book or a study that takes me through a process of life change. That wasn’t always the case. It used to be that i spent the last month of the year depressed, frustrated and disappointed with the small amount of results that i had to show for another year passing by. my assessment also included little hope of change for the coming year and thus the holiday blues would set in and take control until mid January.

i’m not a big reader but what i do read is always life altering and is more than just a one time read. When my grandchildren get old enough i will pay each of them to read the following books.

imagesFirst there’s “Who Moved My Cheese.” It revealed to me about being comfortable, complacent, indifferent in the spiritual matters of my life. It was my first introduction to the idea of living life intentionally through the handwriting on the wall.

There was a book prior to that called “The Heart Reader” it revealed to me about true relationship and the connection that exists between every person. It’s where God told me that i was to stop enduring people and to start enjoying them.

Another title was “Ordering Your Private World.” Wow… this book was an eye opener and taught me concepts that are now everyday principles. This is the book that revealed to me about my outer collapses and why my inner strength could not sustain them.

Then there was “How to Pray” by Dr. Cho, i possessed this book some 20 years before i actually read it as we opened the Onething Prayer and Worship Center. Not a church but a house of prayer where a new understanding and a new love for prayer was revealed to me.

UnknownThe Seven Longings of the Human Heart by Mike Bickle. This book revealed to me that my life has value and importance because God enjoys me. This is despite the fact that i may never be a part of anything large or have a grand impact or do anything memorable for God.

The Circle Maker… i read this book when i had a sense that there was far more to prayer, and to God’s vision for my life, than what i was experiencing? It revealed to me the legend of Honi the Circle Maker—a man bold enough to draw a circle in the sand and not budge from inside it until God answered his prayers for his people.

Unknown-4Love, Acceptance & Forgiveness by Jerry Cook. my copy of this book is tattered and torn.  It confirmed my inner thoughts about church and the role of a paster. He says that a pastor’s speaking in and of itself should be used of the Spirit to accomplish ministry. As a pastor speaks, people should be saved, changed,and edified. Acts 10:44 shares that concept. While Peter was still speaking these words, the Holy Spirit came on all who heard the message. When Jesus was done teaching there was no need to hang around and pray. The work was done!

“Today Matters” by John Maxwell which i could recommend most any book by Him but this one is my stand out. It revealed that if i want to go to places i’ve never been before then i will have to think in ways i have never thought before. This book taught me how to develop 12 daily practices to help me take control of my daily agenda so that i would have time to love people.

“The Dream Giver” by Bruce Wilkenson which i’ve read over 12 times and done a study with a small group at least 6 times. Everytime i touch this book it takes me out of my Comfort Zone, past the Boarder Bullies, across Wasteland and beyond the Giants in the land. i gained great wisdom along the way, nourished by insightful quotes, Scriptures and memorable principles.

Then there is my all time favorite, The Shack by William Young. i can not say enough about this book. It’s a love it or hate it book. i have read or listened to it well over 25 times. Obviously i love it. It would take a years worth of posts to share what this book revealed to me.

In the next post i’ll share about where this years book is taking me and the life altering experiences. This one by far is  the most intimate and personal and down right grueling at times. i’m on my third listen my second read and our first small group. Until then be intentionally your gratefulness as we approach Thanksgiving.

 

Leave a Reply

