Revealed… The Forward #1

Posted: December 1, 2014 in Podcasts, Revealed...!
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Please click on the link below to listen.

The forward to this years book is a forward to these posts, to my life… yet it couldn’t be more opposite.

UnknownThe Book: “People who really want to make a difference in the world usually do it, in one way or another.”

As far back as i can remember i determined that i would be different. my childhood was to be different. my work experience, different. my marriage would be different. my role as a father would be different and most certainly my relationship with God would be different. In a nut shell things would be different for me because i, would make them different, one way or another.

Different because in everything around me there was nothing that i wanted any part of. my father was an alcoholic and thus i wanted nothing to do with being a man like him. Breaking down the bathroom door to find my mother lying on the floor in a pool of her own blood after attempting suicide instilled in me that i wanted nothing to do with the traits and characteristics that a young man is supposed to glean from his mother and… certainly, i would marry someone who was nothing like her. As for being a different father i was fairly certain i could accomplish that by not being an alcoholic, by showing up in my children’s lives which meant to provide for them, you know not just the essentials of a roof over their heads, clothes on their backs and food in their stomachs but things like…. well, just better than what i had. At a very young age i worked and made my way through life being a provider and thus not needing anything or for that matter anyone. There was no one who hugged me or held me when i was struggling, no one to tell me that they loved me as it was just understood. No… i would make my way and it would be no doubt different than anything i had experienced.

Book: “And I’ve noticed something about people who make a difference in the world: They hold the images-2unshakable conviction that individuals are extremely important, that every life matters.”

i knew that individuals were extremely important and i was the most important individual… my life did matter… and i would make a difference. my thoughts came from a small circle of relationships. A so-called relationship with God, the people of the church and my parents. i felt that they only showed up when things got desperate and that included God… when or if He felt like it. i watched as church people attempted to help my father with no long-term results. They would pray for him and with him and yet nothing changed. my father would even make the confession of accepting God into his life, but nothing! As for my mother… what i remember are the tears she couldn’t hold back when the church board and the pastor told her she couldn’t be a member because she smoked. i recall wondering why she didn’t get any credit or consideration for sticking it out with an alcoholic husband? At the time, my thoughts God were that He was a long way off, way to busy for this struggling young man and the people of the church well they couldn’t help my father and mother. That left me with sheer determination that things were going to be very, very different, because i would make them so! And…. as for people… it was quite the opposite of Katie… i developed little need, nor love for them.

People for me for much of my life have been a frustration, something i had to endure with little to be enjoyed. i often have shared how i would love to buy ten areas of land in a forest and build a cabin in the middle of it with no road to get to it. The idea being that if someone wanted to see me, to talk to me, they would have to be serious enough to trek their way in.

These days i have learned to not get frustrated with people and their inconsistencies… well, most of the time. The change has images-1not come from people but in me. Today, i just like Katie, do not pretend to teach grand lessons that suddenly enlighten entire communities, but i am content sharing small lessons that i have experienced that may bring incremental changes to a single individual. And when people cause me have a particularly stressful day, i don’t quit, grumble, or complain, i keep on going, doing life together. This is a work in progress… obviously God felt the need to remind me of the past and where i am today and so this opening paragraph, in the forward of this unlikely book, speaks about my need to experience more of this absolute love for people that Katie has found.

i’m Dr. ed peterson the host of the me and I Am post and podcast and the one learning the lessons shared by the story of Kisses From Katie.

Leave a Reply

