Revealed… Chapter #2

Posted: December 15, 2014 in Podcasts, Revealed...!

PLEASE CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW TO LISTEN.

i love Katie’s honesty when she images-1says, “I truly love my new life but compared to the life i had been living, it is hard.” This journey to follow after God is not an easy one, it is hard and filled with loneliness as not many have the will nor the desire to put in the effort.

The journey becomes even more difficult if i spend my time and thoughts on looking back. The way i am able to survive is to look forward to the plans that God has for me… Jeremiah 29:11 says, For I know the plans I have for you,” plans to prosper you, not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” If i don’t believe any other verse in the Bible this one will take me a long way on a day by day basis.

Once again God shows me in Chapter 2 that this book is His perfect plan for me as Katie shares, “I learned so much from them as they made my frustrations seem small and petty and taught me to rejoice in the simple pleasures God had surrounded me with.” God has been teaching me, in baby steps, about finding contentment and fulfillment in being a simple creation of His. God has been opening my eyes to a new way of living, to a new way of loving, serving and obeying Him. If i want to be in His presence all i have to do is enter into someone’s pain and sit with them and know.

imagesKatie shares at the end of chapter 2 how there was a deep fulfillment that began to swallow her every frustration. She shares about a moment when it was raining outside so they had to have prayer time in doors. She was in a room with 25 children praising God. She says that she had never seen anyone so alive for their Maker. Some stand with their hands in the air. Others like her, overwhelmed with awe, have fallen to their knees on the cold cement floor. The beautiful sound of 26 voices lifted in prayer drowns out the beating of the rain on the tin roof. God is in this moment!

This is what i was reminded of as i listened to it the first time. When my grandchildren were born and i would get to hold them i never missed an opportunity to pray over them as we paced the floor or sat quietly. It was one of those hard lessons learned as i let my oldest grandson go home the first time without taking advantage of the opportunity. i remember it like it was yesterday as he left and i realized what i had missed. While i don’t carry them anymore as they’ve grown, sitting on papa’s lap or even wrestling works just as well. i’m also reminded of the granddaughter that will greet me when i get to heaven. While i never got to hold her or meet her here on earth i have known for years that she is waiting for me in heaven and i will hold her close… for a very long time… and we will make up for every second missed.

This is not something that i can explain. This is not something that my words can capture. This is experiential and i look forward to the day that i will be able to share a moment like that with my new granddaughter. But i sense that this will not be something i will teach her… no, she will teach me. Soon she will have a family and more specifically a Papa who will love her unconditionally just as he does his other grandchildren.

Katie says that her deepest prayer is that she would know the Lord the way the first grader sitting next to her does. me too! As i write this i am stirred with the presence of God in this room and as i leave chapter 2 and today’s post it is not for the purpose of jumping back soakinginto life. It is for the purpose of turning on some worship music, closing my eyes, envisioning sitting in that room with those 26 voices and just soaking in His presence.

How about you…? Can you spare a moment? How about just one song?

Click Here to listen/watch – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNClAJO2tnQ

Leave a Reply

