Revealed… Chapter 5

Posted: December 22, 2014 in Podcasts, Revealed...!

PLEASE CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW TO LISTEN.

What if you woke up today with only the things you thanked God for yesterday?

Greetings! i’m dr. ed peterson and i’m sharing my fearless moral inventory through the reading of a book about Relentless love and redemption titled Kisses From Katie.

Chapter 5… Chapter 5 for me was not meant for words. It is for visualizing and that’s what i did. I stopped listening and waited for a time images-2when i could close my eyes and listen intently as she describes scene after scene of what life is like in Uganda. Life changing moments.

“They are clapping because what you are doing cannot be possible here. Something so good cannot happen to us.” Oliver is explaining to me that everyone is cheering because we have just told them we will be providing all children in our sponsorship program with school supplies. Here in Uganda, school supplies consist of a pencil, a pen and a notebook.

Clapping and cheering because they are going to get a pencil, a pen and a notebook! i wonder how that would go over if this Christmas i or any of us would wrap up a pencil, a pen and a notebook and put it under the tree for one of our children or grandchildren?

hungry-comparison-graphici have never thought of myself as a material possession kinda guy, but… i certainly do enjoy them if i have them. When i recently started a new job and we had to buy a second car after not having one for over 15 years i insisted that it have bluetooth or an audio input jack so i could listen to my music. i guess i’m more materialistic than i care to admit. But in my defense and being perfectly honest i could live without any of it. We went 7 years without cable television, watching only what was available from an antenna… and i say that like it’s a sacrifice… my, my, my.

i want to share a paragraph from the end of Chapter 5. Katie is talking about being called Mommy and then relates it to us calling out the name of Jesus.

“Dignified men, store clerks, and parking attendants call me Mommy. Teachers and the doctors at the local hospital call me Mommy. I hear it in shouts as I drive down these insanely bumpy red roads ; it is sung as my daughters burst through the door when they get home , it is whispered in my ear as I wake up each morning. It is hollered with joy or sobbed with longing for comfort.

images-3And every time I hear it, my heart leaps. I am willing to bet this is how our heavenly Father feels each time we whisper His name, each time we shout it with joy or cry out in pain, every time we tell Him exactly what we need or feel: “Father, I trust you.” “Father, you will protect me.” “You are my comfort place, my safe place.” “You are mine and I am yours and we are family.” His heart leaps and He delights in us and this is unfathomable.

This words reminded me of Isaiah 49:16 which says, ed, remember, I have indelibly imprinted (tattooed a picture of) you on the palm of each of My hands; ed, your walls are continually before Me.

The Message is far more descriptive. ed said, “I don’t get it. God has left me. My Master has forgotten I even exist.”

“Can a mother forget the infant at her breast, walk away from the baby she bore? But even if mothers forget, I’d never forget you—never. Look, I’ve written your name on the backs of my hands.

Let’s celebrate the name of Jesus during this Christmas season and know that no matter how much you have, how much you wanted and didn’t get, use Katie’s words as a prayer, “Father, You are mine and I am yours and we are family.” Then pause and know that His heart leaps and He delights in you.

Leave a Reply

