Revealed… Chapter 9 – Say Yes!

Posted: January 8, 2015 in Podcasts, Revealed...!
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sorry no audio link today.

This book came at a perfect time with regards to Katie’s next words. “I made peace with feeling inadequate because the truth is, I was. I still am; we all are. I quickly became okay with being imperfect.”

images-2i have never thought i was perfect, but i also have never felt inadequate. i have no clue as to why i feel way as i have exceeded the goals and expectations set for me by me employeer but i’m struggling inside. And it’s not just the workplace where this happens, it can be while watching a movie or talking on the phone. A few days ago a friend had to have some surgery and it took longer than it was supposed to and when i heard that, while still trusting God i battled with fear for her life and her husband’s condition, wishing i could be there for them. But i can’t! i have a job in the marketplace which dictates my schedule and thus what i can and can not do. my heart is fully aware of who i am in Christ and that i can do all things through Him and yet my physical body just doesn’t line up with what i know. i am a very easy-going person, it takes a lot to get me stirred up but these days… the slightest thing can cause my heart to race and my emotions to jump into action. Katie talks about feeling inadequate and when i started my new job it didn’t take but a few hours and i was having to quickly become okay with being imperfect and feeling very inadequate.

Unknowni truly am puzzled by this. If i knew what the issue or the cause i’d fix it, but it ‘s like Paul when he prayed three times for God to remove the thorn in his flesh and God basically said no, deal with it. That’s where i’m at, dealing with it, yet feeling… no not feeling, knowing that i am closer to God than i have ever been despite all of this. To me it’s a well dressed lie and i am refusing to chase it.Unknown

i know that God has a track record of using inadequate people, Paul, Peter, Moses, Jonah, David, Sampson, the list is endless. i am so out of my element in so many places all at the same time. It seems that He is asking me to reach a little higher, to stretch a little further, in spite of feeling like i can’t do any more. All i can think of is that He’s looking for simple trust. Then, once He’ got it, He’ll give me everything i need to do the “more” that He is asking of me just like He’s always done.

Katie wraps up chapter 9 by stating that she is just a plain girl from Tennessee. Broken in many ways, sinful, and inadequate. Common and simple with nothing special about her. I’m so glad she added the following words to those thoughts. “Nothing special except I choose to say “yes.” “Yes” to the things of God.”

Ahhh! And that makes all the difference in the world. Katie is willing to do today what others will not and thus she is able to do tomorrow what others can not. i have included a link to a great song to bring life to her words. she has mastered the art of saying yes and doing so before she even knows the question. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVYRc7LtvUA

i’m dr. ed peterson the host of me and I Am, thank you for joining me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

