Revealed… Stunned Silence!

Posted: January 28, 2015 in Revealed...!
Tags: , , , , , , ,

She got off the stool, picked up the cake, and carrying it like it was the Holy Grail, walked slowly toward the door. As we all just stood there motionless, she left.

Unknown-2When the door closed, there was a stunned silence in the place. Not knowing what else to do, I broke the silence by saying, “What do you say we pray?”

Looking back on it now, it seems more than strange for a sociologist to be leading a prayer meeting with a bunch of prostitutes in a diner in Honolulu at 3:30 in the morning. But then it just felt like the right thing to do. I prayed for Agnes. I prayed for her salvation. I prayed that her life would be changed and that God would be good to her.

When I finished, Harry leaned over the counter and with a trace of hostility in his voice, he said, “Hey! You never told me you were a preacher. What kind of church do you belong to?” In one of those moments when just the right words came, I answered, “I belong to a church that throws birthday parties for whores at 3:30 in the morning.”

Harry waited a moment and then almost sneered as he answered, “No you don’t. There’s no church like that. If there was, I’d join it. I’d join a church like that!”

Wouldn’t we all? Wouldn’t we all like to join a church that throws birthday parties for whores at 3:30 in the morning?

Well, that’s the kind of church that Jesus came to create!

The question that’s begging to be asked is… would we… ALL?

i could do what Tony did a whole lot easier that what Katie does.  That is if i would have been listening closely enough to what was going on around me instead of being consumed with what i was doing. That is if i was moved to do something about it. There’s a book called The Heart Reader that fits in here so well. i’ll bet i’ve read it a dozen times and immediately after reading it my attention is focused on the people around me but… i have never been moved enough to act on what i hear and within days i forget all about it. Time to read it again.

Let me share one last story to try and bring this all together.

One day at three o’clock in the afternoon, Peter and John were on their way into the Temple for prayer meeting. At the same time there was a man crippled from birth being carried up. Every day he was set down at the Temple gate, the one named Beautiful, to beg from those going into the Temple. When he saw Peter and John about to enter the Temple, he asked for a handout. Peter, with John at his side, looked him straight in the eye and said, “Look here.” He looked up, expecting to get something from them.

images-2Peter said, “I don’t have a nickel to my name, but what I do have, I give you: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk!” He grabbed him by the right hand and pulled him up. In an instant his feet and ankles became firm. He jumped to his feet and walked.

Jesus taught the disciples what was of real value. Katie did what the disciples did and said to Uganda “I don’t have a nickel to my name, but what I do have, I give you!” Then she grabbed them one child a time, one need at a time and pulled them up. The love of God flowing through her was all they needed. She changed Uganda one life at a time and as she “so loved” others jumped up to their feet and walked.

Leave a Reply

