In Tune…

Posted: February 5, 2015 in In Tune...

i hope you enjoyed the words of the past posts in this short series. They were very personal to the author and his family so i am thankful for his willingness to share.

imagesi thought i would give some sort of example of how i use music in taking every thought captive to the word of God. For years i’ve used a God’s Promises book to help me accomplish taking my thoughts captive. i now have an app that has hundreds of scriptures and they are categorized by topics. This allows me to find a specific verse for whatever is ailing me. The nice thing is that it gives me a selection of maybe 10 or 12 different verses to select from for each topic. i simply read thru them all once or twice, sometimes three times to find the right verse for me to meditate on and use for prayer. Thus taking every thought captive to that verse, the word of God.

Here’s how the music thing fits into the picture. i am listening to hundreds of songs everyday that cover a wide variety of topics. i noticed several months ago that as circumstances would come up that would tend to distract my thoughts away from God, i could recall a song i had heard, i would find it and play it over and over until my mind was back in line with the word.

So i’ll give you a few of my favorites.

Every single day must begin with Today by Willamette Stone. i don’t believe good and bad days. Every day is a day of grace and this song reminds me that this day is the greatest day i have had the opportunity to live. This will get 365 listens this year! i even made it the ring tone on my phone so i get boaster shots through out the day.

Matthew Ward’s song The Motions was one of the first. i’ll bet i’ve listened to that song over 100 times.

More Than Enough by the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir is another and i know i’ve listened to it over 200 times as i was reminding myself that God More Then Enough, all the time, in every situation.

Great is Thy Faithfulness by Gary Chapman. Can you guess what i was struggling with here?

Someone worth Dying For – Mikeschair

Unrestrained by Mandisa is a cure for everything!

There’s also Canon In D, and Kiss The Rain, no words just calming, soothing notes flowing through my mind.

images-1 Through all these songs i am redirecting my mind from the circumstances, down a  path that leads to God. Recently i have added a song named If You Want Me To by Ginny Owens. If you’re going through any struggle this song will focus your mind on God and not the circumstances

i hope you’re getting the idea but i’ll share one last song that was just added to my God’s Music Promises playlist. It’s called Shoulders by King and Country and i’m going to close by sharing the words and a link to the song. As you read the words or listen whatever is coming to kill, steal and destroy in your life you will find the strength to say STOP, enough is enough and take every thought captive to these words from God. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40wYfjv6yt8

I lookup to the mountains. Does my strength come from the mountains? No

When confusion’s my companion. And despair holds me for ransom. I will feel no fear. I know that You are near.

When I’m caught deep in the valley. With chaos for my company. I’ll find my comfort here. Cause I know that You are near

My help comes from You. You’re right here, pulling me through. You carry my weakness, my sickness, my brokenness all on Your shoulders. Your shoulders

My help comes from You. You are my rest, my rescue. I don’t have to see to believe that You’re lifting me up on Your shoulders
Your shoulders

You mend what once was shattered. And You turn my tears to laughter. Your forgiveness is my fortress. Oh Your mercy is relentless

My help comes from You. You’re right here, pulling me through. You carry my weakness, my sickness, my brokenness all on Your shoulders. Your shoulders

My help comes from You. You are my rest, my rescue. I don’t have to see to believe that You’re lifting me up on Your shoulders
Your shoulders

My help is from You. Don’t have to see it to believe it

My help is from you. Don’t have to see it, ‘cause I know, ‘cause I know it’s true

My help is from You. Don’t have to see it to believe it

My help is from you. Don’t have to see it, ‘cause I know, ‘cause I know it’s true

My help comes from You. You’re right here, pulling me through. You carry my weakness, my sickness, my brokenness all on Your shoulders. Your shoulders

My help comes from You. You are my rest, my rescue. I don’t have to see to believe that You’re lifting me up on Your shoulders
Your shoulders

My help is from You. Don’t have to see it to believe it

My help is from you. Don’t have to see it, ‘cause I know, ‘cause I know it’s true

My help is from You. Don’t have to see it to believe it

My help is from you. Don’t have to see it, ‘cause I know, ‘cause I know it’s true

My help is from You. Don’t have to see it to believe it

My help is from you. Don’t have to see it, ‘cause I know, ‘cause I know it’s true

My help is from You. Don’t have to see it to believe it

My help is from you. Don’t have to see it, ‘cause I know, ‘cause I know it’s true

 

 

Leave a Reply

