Deep Enough To Dream!

Posted: February 19, 2015 in Today
Tags: , , , , ,

Before going to bed last night i had to get another 1000 steps in to reach my daily goal. While walking i listened to one of my favorite imagessongs over and over. It’s called Deep Enough To Dream by Chris Rice. i won’t share the whole song as that’s not really what the post is about. The song i believe just set the stage for an incredible experience. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gy6IU3AzYlY

 

Lazy summer afternoon
Screened in porch and nothin’ to do
I just kicked off my tennis shoes
Slouchin’ in a plastic chair
Rakin’ my fingers through my hair
I close my eyes and I leave them there
And I yawn, and sigh, and slowly fade away

Deep enough to dream in brilliant colors
I have never seen
Deep enough to join a billion people
For a wedding feast
Deep enough to reach out and touch
The face of the One who made me
And oh, the love I feel, and oh the peace
Do I ever have to wake up

i think i found the place where my dream and my reality collided. i must have listened to it 15 times during my walk. While the verses are good the chorus is what i really love. Deep enough to dream in brilliant colors i have never seen! Deep enough to join a billion people for a wedding feast! Deep enough to reach out and touch the face of the one who made me! And oh, the love i feel, and the peace, do i ever have to wake up!

imagesIt must have gotten to my spirit because i had that kind of dream last night.

i was sitting at my desk working on what  i think is my next post. All of a sudden i hear my name being called… “ed.” Then i heard the voice say, “I would like your input on a matter.” “Sure,” came a quick reply even though i’m still a little off guard as to what’s going on. Then the voice says, “I see your writing about “The Greatest Day You’ve Ever Known and the idea that there are no good days or bad days just days of grace.” “Yes” i replied. “Well i have here a selection of days and i would like you to pick what day you would like me to give you tomorrow.” “Seriously?” “Absolutely, which ever one you pick, it’s yours.” Still dreaming but intrigued i am presented with my options.

The first day that could be yours is… You will meet someone who will invite you to come and speak at their church in a far away place. But, Ann Marie can not teach with you and in fact she can not even go with you.

The second day that could be your is… Your day will be filled trials and tribulations, and filled is the key word.

The third day that could be yours is… You have the ability to switch places with anyone you come in contact that day but it will be for the rest of your life and include every detail.

The fourth day that could be yours is… a day where you will be there in one way or another for every person you are doing life together with. All will need your listening ear, probably some council, encouragement, direction, etc, etc, etc,. You will not have a moment of silence.

The fifth day that could be yours is… You will go to the hospital and be with someone very close to you. You will have to wait patiently and you will have to fight your mind, will and emotions for much of the day.

The sixth day that could be yours is… You will not have a day. You will not wake up. You will come and spend eternity with me.

The seventh day that could be yours is… With every though you have, it will come to life in the very next moment.

The voice finished by saying, “The matter is in your hands. What day do you choose?”

Immediately i was reminded of how God came to Solomon while he was sleeping and asked him what he wanted. God is offering me the opportunity to choose my tomorrow! But how do i choose? There are so many implications and so many unknowns. Hummmm?

After what seemed to me like hours, i smiled and told God i had made my decision. my decision is… to leave the choice up to you! You God are the one with plans for me. Plans not to harm me, plans to give me hope. Plans for my future. So i give my choice back to you!

Then the voice said, “ed, you will call upon Me, and you will come and pray to Me, and I will hear and heed you.

The next thing i know i’m shutting off the alarm and rolling out of bed with the words to my song dancing in my mind. Deep enough to dream in brilliant colors i have never seen! Deep enough to join a billion people for a wedding feast! Deep enough to reach out and touch the face of the one who made me! And oh, the love i feel, and the peace, do i ever have to wake up!

As for what tomorrow holds… well, it will probably have bits and pieces from many of the choices i was given. The things i am taking away from the dream and let me just say, i am not a big dream person, so this is out of my comfort zone, but it’s this “Today” God reassured me of a tomorrow and that tomorrow when i call on Him He will hear and heed my call. I guess that removes the likely hood of choice number six.

Leave a Reply

