Life Is… An Amazing Story!

Posted: April 6, 2015 in Life Is...

One of the readers says… Life is… An Amazing Story.

Definitions:

AMAZING: causing great surprise or wonder; astonishing.

STORY: an account of past events in someone’s life or in the evolution of something.

imagesNow that is life in a nutshell.

In the beginning… the whole creation process. Amazing! We grew in someone else’s belly. Amazing! We breathe. Amazing! Have you ever stopped to think oh I need to breathe? I’m not speaking of the phrase “take a (usually deep) breath”. Just breathe. No, it happens when God’s will allows it to happen. Amazing! Have you ever had to tell your heart to beat? No, it just happens on God’s will because we are God’s creation. Amazing! This is part of the Amazing story God has written for us. The gift of life is Amazing!

Weak you say? OK how about this. If I had to give my son up to die knowing the way he would die, knowing that he was doing it for people (some of which would never know that he even did it for them) to save a broken and sinful world would you do it? TRUTH time! I am a mom and I would say “NO WAY”. God gave his son, on purpose, with deliberate intent and allowed him to die on a cross for US. Amazing!

Unknown-1OK, too much? Well, it’s not weak! Let’s go this route. We wake up every morning under a roof, on a mattress, with sheets and a blanket, we walk into a 2nd room to brush our teeth, a 3rd to make our breakfast, hold on….a 4th room to eat that breakfast. Amazing! We walk on carpet, and the temperature is exactly what we want it to be for this morning routine. Amazing! We drive a car to work. Amazing! See more of God’s Amazing story being formed here? I have just started to learn (personal experience & in reading) but cannot even partially comprehend what conditions others live in. It is Amazing! They are happy, do not think suicide and depression isn’t an option. This is part of their story. Amazing! These people live in our world and share the same air that we breathe, TODAY not in the 1800’s or Biblical times, TODAY! There are people who have no home, no bed, no food, not even clean water. These things are very much a part of their Amazing story, but not a part of mine (I take much for granted & I am changing this). Some have sickness and illness I haven’t even heard of. These same people would love the chance to work. They would not grumble or complain about hours or bosses, nor would they ask for a raise. They don’t have a car to get them to this job but after walking miles they would be thankful. This is yet another piece in each person’s Amazing story!

OK, too farfetched for you to imagine? Let’s get personal. Let’s get specific! Cancer, Toothache, Chronic Pain or fatigue, Miscarriage, Heart Attack, Arthritis, Depression, Stroke, Diabetes, Allergies, Broken Foot, Headache, Cold, Flu, Divorce, Infidelity, Accidents, Fired, Death, Financial, Insurance… any/all of these ending with Suicide. Amazing that anyone could feel so desperate and without hope that suicide is even an option. Each of these items are a piece of a personal, intimate 1 of a kind AMAZING (see definition) story. Really? Before getting upset (even mad) at me, read the definition. YES, REALLY! You are here reading this blog (I am here writing it), so by God’s grace we are ALIVE & our lives are saved! That (example headache) is part of OUR Amazing story. Did that Cancer lead you to a new relationship, did divorce bring you to God and did that headache show you a co-worker’s sympathetic side? Why me & not him/her? Part of the story! Amazing! We (myself INCLUDED) spend a moment of time feeling sorry for ourselves & in that moment what we have NOT done is taken 1 moment to be grateful that we have the ability to survive, thrive, and overcome these things through our Amazing Christ. Remember EVERY moment is part of our Amazing story “good” and “bad” alike. No 2 stories are the same, each was written for us before birth by our heavenly father. We have free will to do, handle, and look at things as we please*. I have a promise that I am not alone, I am unique! God has promised that all things work together for good to those who love and serve Him faithfully (Romans 8:28)ALL THINGS. Did we catch that? ALL! Amazing! It may be difficult for us to see and understand how this is accomplished at times, but God has promised it, and He will deliver. 2 Corinthians 4:8-18Living Bible (TLB) we are pressed on every side by troubles, but not crushed and broken. We are perplexed because we don’t know why things happen as they do, but we don’t give up and quit. We are hunted down, but God never abandons us. We get knocked down, but we get up again and keep going. Is God’s promise of our Amazing Story enough?

I think you get the point. My life is an Amazing Story verse for 2014 was Philippians 1:6Living Bible (TLB) And I am sure that God who began the good work within you will keep right on helping you grow in his grace until his task within you is finally finished on that day when Jesus Christ returns. By NO means am I saying at any point in this ENTIRE blog that I am perfect or have any of this perfected, I AM A WORK IN PROGRESS, but Looking back, God’s promise for my Amazing Story came to pass. I chose to focus on this verse, I chose to FIND the AMAZING things that Life is … Embrace them, see the best in them, and trust that God created me in his image and likeness and he created an Amazing Story for me. AMAZING!

 

In my (humanly) effort to continue to be a work in progress in my relationship with God my 2015 verse is Nehemiah 6:3 (NLT) so I replied by sending this message to them: “I am engaged in a great work, so I can’t come down. Why should I stop working to come and meet with you?” Here is my translation… I am doing an essential job in my Amazing Story, I am building my relationship with God and I am allowing others to see him through my actions, words, and every piece of my daily life. I will not allow myself to be distracted by “things” (come down) furthermore, I don’t need to “come down” because down there I have an Army that can handle “things” and they can act on my behalf so I can continue my job at hand.

 

Unknown*The way you will handle things is directly related to the way you LOOK at things. If you look at anything you might perceive to be “bad” and see how it could be “good” or even a lesson, it might just change your reaction.

Life is… An AMAZING Story, written by my Father.

Leave a Reply

