Life is …. Not The One I Signed Up For?

Posted: April 9, 2015 in Life Is...
Tags: , , , ,

In a movie i recently watched they said several times “Everything will be alright in the end, so if it’s not alright at this moment then it must not be the end.” On one hand i like it because it helps me to not get caught up in a single moment of time. On the other hand i don’t like it because it means that for the most part i’m living life for the future for something to come. It’s like being a Christian for the sole purpose of heaven and i’m not convinced that that is what God had in mind when He created me.

UnknownMost people i have done and currently do life with, tell me that they never planned on doing what they are doing. They say that this is not the life they signed up for. They share that if they could have written their life stories during their early years; the story that they have today is not the story they would have written. i don’t even remember what i thought my story or life would be when i was i high school, but i’m fairly certain that this is definitely not it. But in all fairness that’s hard to say since i can’t remember and truthfully i can’t think of anything i haven’t done that i have ever thought of so maybe this is it. I mean i’m not dissatisfied with the core elements of my life. i have the woman i knew would be my wife, best friend, lover, and partner. i have two children who make me proud in so many ways. i have grandchildren that will accomplish great and Godly things with their lives. i have a handful of friends who have my back.

In general i think that i like others struggle with the “shoulds” of life. i have been raised to believe that life is supposed to happen a certain way, that regardless of the unexpected, there are set ways for me to respond and i am to accept them as “out-of-my-control.” When things don’t happen “my” way, then i need to get over it and get my life back on track. The thing that seems strange to me, is that i, we have all these “shoulds” and expectations of what our lives should be like, but very few, if anybody’s life, ever turns out exactly the way they thought it should.

So all that being said, i need to have dreams and hopes and expectations, to prepare for life in some ways. But i can’t hold on to the disappointments of life.
So it’s time to begin the shift and find out what “Life Is… Supposed To Be.
UnknownIsaiah 58:18 says, For thus says the Lord—Who created the heavens, God Himself, Who formed the earth and made it, Who established it and did not create it to be a worthless waste; He formed it to be inhabited—I am the Lord, and there is no one else.
He did not create the heavens and the earth to be worthless waste. So how can i ever think that He created me to live a worthless waste of a life? That’s only possible if i don’t know who i am or i trade who i am for something other than what i was created to be. He created the heavens and the earth to be inhabited and i believe He created me to be the inhibitor and the inhabited as well. Inhibitor of the heavens and earth by being inhabited by Him, created in His image and likeness.

Anyone can study to become a doctor, lawyer, teacher, or anything else, but that knowledge will only take me so far. On the other hand, discovering the deep wisdom of knowledge instilled in me before my creation ensures that my life is far more meaningful and fulfilling.

While there may be those that would strongly disagree i believe that the most valuable knowledge that i will ever discover is, and always will be, within. Everything outside serves only to confirm what i already know or to distract me from what i know.

So what i know for sure so far is that Life Is… not a worthless waste!

 

 

Leave a Reply

